Weekend Adventures – The Kennebunks

In all my time living in New England, I’d only ever been to Maine a few times. And most of them were to visit Acadia National Park (which is awesome). The others were just over the border to shop at the Kittery Trading Post. Maine is a big state, with a lot to offer. So, with the resolution to take more weekend trips, Mike and I decided to make a weekend of visiting the Kennebunks – Kennebunk and Kennebunkport.

DSC_0099
A bit blurry – my camera was struggling with the humidity…

We spent the weekend exercising, eating, and playing PokémonGo (I admit it, I’m addicted). We had a great time and we hope to return someday to explore further – there is always something missed when only spending a few days in a single place.

IMG_1925
The car is packed and ready to go!

We drove up on a Friday night, late enough so that we didn’t hit too much traffic. The first goal upon arriving was to find food. We had already eaten dinner prior to leaving, so we needed to find dessert! I’d heard of this great artisan ice cream shop in town from a friend who had been here before. You may have heard of it: Rococo Artisan Ice Cream. Let me tell you, this was some amazing ice cream, if you’re willing to throw all of your ideas of traditional ice cream out the window.

IMG_1965 (1).jpg
If you’re in the area, look for this sign!!!

We stopped by once every day that we were there (yes, three times!). They change most of their flavors every day, and I tried to go for some of the ones that were really out there. I loved every single one, but my favorite out of the three I tried was the Guava Maria Cookie flavor. So delicious! I also had their Blueberry Chipotle (amazing and weird) and the Amarula Pecan (also delicious). I’m so glad that there isn’t a Rococo’s near where I live because I would be 100 lbs heavier and very broke.

Ice Cream Collage
From left to right: Blueberry Chipotle, Amarula Pecan, Guava Maria Cookie

The next day, we woke up early and went for a nice bike ride along Ocean Avenue and up Route 9. We obviously had to stop on Ocean Ave to check out the Bush Summer Compound. President George H.W. Bush has his summer home here in Kennebunkport, ME. This “summer home” is a giant compound, complete with a tennis court. Must be nice to be rich. 🙂

IMG_1006
Selfie in front of the Bush Compound

We rode up to Cape Porpoise, which was beautiful. Riding a bike around is a nice way to take in your surroundings because you are moving a bit slower compared to if you were driving. The roads here were perfect for biking, with some nice, gently rolling hills. There were tons of gorgeous houses to look at while riding (and simultaneously paying attention to the road). Maybe one day when we’re rich (not likely) we will have a summer house around here.

IMG_1010.JPG
Cape Porpoise

After our nice bike ride, we decided to go to the beach. As we were packing our beach stuff, I realized that the knitting needles I brought with me to start a new project were the wrong ones. I conveniently didn’t read the pattern well enough to notice that I needed a specific length of circular needles. I brought 24″ instead of 16″ circulars, which was not going to do. What better excuse than this to drag Mike to the local knitting shop – The Ball and Skein – and buy new needles (and also look at the yarn selection 🙂 ).

IMG_1973
I was drawn to this yummy, chunky Malabrigo in my favorite color

After I got my new needles (my first Addi Turbos – I love them!) and some new yarn (obviously), we grabbed some sandwiches to bring to the beach at H.B. Provisions. And then we were off! It was a cool, overcast day, but the beach was still nice. The water was obviously freezing, so we didn’t go in. It was not hot enough out for that! We stayed until the threatening storm clouds looked like they were going to open up and start pouring rain on top of us.

DSC_0069
Kennebunk Beach – Gooch’s Beach
DSC_0076.jpg
Beach knitting is the best knitting

Post-beach time was obviously time to get more food. We ate a delicious meal at Federal Jack’s Brew Pub. Everything we ate at this restaurant was delectable, but the coconut shrimp lettuce wraps and mussels were particularly yummy. Fun fact: this restaurant is the birthplace of Shipyard Brewing Company! They already had Pumpkin Head in the store – in August!

Fast forward to Sunday morning and it was time to go for a nice run to the beach. The weather was a complete 180 from the day before. Hot and humid were all that Sunday had in store for us. But we decided to make the most of the last day of our weekend getaway!

IMG_1956
Beach side run (Middle Beach)

After our run, we walked into town to find some breakfast. We found a great place called Salt & Honey. Maybe we were just really hungry, but we had some amazing breakfast at this place. Mike deems it “the best breakfast burrito I’ve ever had”. The home fries (which I always judge a breakfast joint by) were incredible – light, slightly crispy, and just the perfect amount of salty. And to top it off, we split an order of the DELICIOUS Wild Maine Blueberry Pancakes with Lemon Curd. Probably the best pancakes I’ve had in my life. And I was already full from the other breakfast I’d eaten (my go to breakfast: two eggs over easy, bacon, home fries, and toast)!

IMG_1960
Wild Maine Blueberry Pancakes with Lemon Curd

We had a great time in the Kennebunks, between cycling, running, wandering around the cute little shops and, of course, eating delicious food. There was no lack of tasty food around here. I just wish I had a bigger stomach and a fatter wallet so that I could have tried more places! While here, I also learned that whoopie pies are Maine’s State Dessert – supposedly invented in Maine. So, in honor of Maine, I ate a whoopie pie before leaving.

IMG_1966
This whoopie pie was not doing well with the heat and humidity, so I put it out of it’s misery. Om nom nom!

Happy Travels, Happy Knitting, and Happy Life!

XOXO

Dri

***********

P.S. My new Addi Turbo needles are super quick! It’s like knitting through butter!!! I’ve already made so much progress on the project I cast on during this weekend getaway!! I highly recommend these needles! So worth the $$$!

IMG_1972
Knitting on the drive home
Leave a Reply

