Weekend Adventures – Washington, D.C.

I’ve packed my weekends full of adventure and fun this summer, and this trend seems to be continuing into the fall season. I can’t really complain. I got to meet up with some pretty great college friends recently. It took a long time for us to actually make it happen (about 3 years), but the four of us had such a great time exploring and eating our way through the weekend!

dsc_0317
Jefferson Memorial on a beautiful Saturday Morning

It started with three of us waking up early on a Friday morning and flying out to visit our fourth buddy, who is currently living just outside of Washington, D.C. Our first task upon landing around 10AM was to venture and find lunch. We decided on a ramen place called Maki (I’ve kind of been obsessed since I tried the real stuff :)). The ramen I got was so tasty and it was absolutely hysterical watching my friends try to eat theirs with chopsticks (I became a chopstick pro at a young age). They eventually gave up and continued with a fork.

img_2156
Delicious ramen!!

Next up was dessert. Our tour guide (what we referred to our D.C. friend for the weekend) took us to Duck Donuts where they make donuts fresh and you can pick your toppings. We mistook “Duck Donuts” for “Dunkin’ Donuts” when she said it. Luckily, Duck Donuts is way more delicious than Dunks (I will always love Dunks, though).

After taking a quick reprieve to drop our bags off and digest a bit, we were on to another food related activity, this time including cats. We took the Metro into D.C. and made our way to Crumbs & Whiskers. Crumbs & Whiskers is a cat cafe where you can drink coffee and play with cats! All the cats are adoptable, too! I wanted to bring them all home with me!

dsc_0251

dsc_0261
Nap time
img_2167
This lazy little fella was named Mollito
dsc_0281
Candy (top) was a feisty little lady who loved to play and antagonize the other cats. Mollito (bottom) was not impressed.
dsc_0291
A handsome chap named Tyrion

Our 75 minute reservation at Crumbs & Whiskers flew by. Playing with the kitties was lots of fun but it was time to move on to more adult things! We walked along the Potomac River and found a bar for happy hour. Afterwards, we took an “adults only” Ghost Tour Walk through Georgetown. We listened to true stories of crime and murder that occurred in the area, some that were recent, too! Walking through the historical neighborhood, we also got to look at all the beautiful architecture. We ended in a graveyard, walking down a narrow staircase to an old crypt.  The door to the crypt was supposed to be closed…but it was open when we got there. Maybe it was the ghosts. Freaky!

dsc_0315
Sunset over the Potomac

The next day, we went back to D.C. to go to a few museums and eat some more delicious food before two of my friends’ flight back home in the evening. Little did we know, this was the day of the opening ceremony of the Museum of African American History. Instead of the short walk across the mall to our selected breakfast joint, we ended up walking 2.5 miles around the mall and closed roads in order to get there! It was so worth it, though. We went to Wicked Waffles and it was amazing!

img_2171
My bacon, egg, and cheese on a crispy waffle was earned!

After breakfast, we went to the Newseum, which was jam packed with information about the news and the press. It was pretty neat, although somewhat overwhelming. There was so much to look at and we definitely got lost a few times. They were also broadcasting the Museum of African American History opening on a jumbotron in the lobby, so we got to watch a few speeches and Stevie Wonder’s musical performance! There was also a cool exhibit with pieces of the actual Berlin Wall and a short film about the evolution of sports broadcasting that was pretty cool. There was so much more to see in this museum but we were pressed for time so we decided to move on.

IMG_2174.jpg
News helicopter suspended from the ceiling.

We then walked to the National Archives to see the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights. The writing on these documents was so faded! It was incredible to see such important pieces of history. We also noted how beautiful and perfect the penmanship was and their ability to write in a perfectly straight line. It truly is a lost art. Every time I have to sign something, I just scribble.

After this quick stop we went to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum. The last time I went to D.C. (which was for less than 24 hours), I must have spent at least 3 hours in just the Geology, Gems, and Minerals exhibit. Lucky for me, this is a permanent exhibit, so I made a beeline for it. My friends saw the Hope Diamond and the other shinies and moved on to other exhibits. I stayed longer and read all about space geology (how the universe formed, meteors, meteorites, etc.). It was so cool. I could have stayed there all day! I also went to the 100 Years of America’s National Park Service exhibit. This exhibit was mostly pictures of the gorgeous National Parks. It only further solidified my desire to visit them all!

By the time we wrapped up in the Natural History Museum, we were pretty hungry. We had decided the day before that we would have sushi burritos for lunch (I’m lucky to have friends like me who plan where they want to eat meals way in advanced of actually eating them). We went to Buredo and each got a sushi burrito. This was my first sushi burrito experience and I was in absolute heaven. I don’t even want to know how many calories were in it. I got one with pulled pork, shrimp tempura and a bunch of different veggies. Ahhhhmazingggg.

After we quite literally stuffed our faces (the nori wasn’t quite like a tortilla and kind of fell apart), we made our way to the Jefferson Memorial for a group picture. Prior to this trip, the four of us didn’t have one single picture of the four of us together in the 5-7 years we had known each other! One of us was always taking a picture of the other three. Lucky for us, I packed my tripod!

dsc_0352
My favorite out of the 20+ taken. Attempting to take a cute jumping photo, this one perfectly captures all of our lovable awkwardness.

We jammed a lot into the 36 hours that all four of us were together. It was so great to be reunited with college friends at a time (called adulthood) that’s so difficult to coordinate schedules. Stay tuned to find out what I did with my D.C. friend for the extra day that I stayed. Hint: it involves National Parks. 🙂

Happy Adventuring and Happy Eating!

XOXO Dri

2 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures – Washington, D.C.

Leave a Reply

