A Quest for Summits – Old Rag Mountain, Shenandoah National Park, VA

You may have read about my Washington, D.C. adventure with three of my good college friends. I flew down with two of them to visit the third around D.C. The two I flew with flew back the day before I did, so my D.C. friend and I had most of the next day together for another adventure before I flew home.

Luckily, this friend also likes to hike. She is also way cooler than me because she has a National Parks Annual Pass. She recommended that we do a cool hike in Shenandoah Nation Park – Old Rag Mountain, which is one of the most popular hikes in the park with a summit at 3,291 feet. In order to have enough time to complete the hike and make it back to the airport for my flight, we woke up at 3:30 AM, packed lunch and some snacks, and headed out the door at 4 AM.

We arrived at the parking lot a little before 6 AM and began the hike. It was still dark, but luckily we planned ahead and packed our headlamps.

img_2189
Pre-hike selfie in the dark

I’ve never hiked in complete darkness before, only during sunsets or dusk, where there is still a little light left. Hiking in the dark was honestly kind of terrifying. We were in bear country, and my friend said she saw a bear here last time she came. So I was on high alert. Unfortunately when you are in the woods, in the dark,  everything sounds a million times louder than it actually is. I’m pretty sure it was just some early bird squirrels moving around, but I totally thought we would be jumped by a bear. Fortunately this didn’t happen.

The beginning of the hike was pretty easy, even in the dark. The first 0.8 miles were actually on a paved road to the actual trailhead. Once on the actual trail, it was a gradual incline thanks to many switchbacks. Once the sun came up, the going was even easier.

img_2190
The sun comes up, and the fog rolls in on Ridge Trail

After a false summit with supposed view (it was very foggy and we couldn’t see anything), we reached the point where we needed to begin the scrambling. This was the funnest part of the hike! We had to navigate narrow passages between rocks, big cracks we had to go down, and steep rocks we had to climb up. The fact that it was foggy and had begun to drizzle made it a bit more challenging because some of the rocks were a bit slippery. I also was trying to use the same foot and hand holds as my friend, who is 5’11”. I’m only 5’5″, so this didn’t work out too well for me. 🙂

img_2202
Navigating a shallow crack in the rock, the easiest way up

img_2197
Giant rocks – my friend is 5’11”

img_2267
Not many hand holds, so I had to trust friction on this one

img_2199
A naturally formed, nearly perfect staircase, with a precarious rock wedged above

We reached the true summit around 8:30 AM. Some of the fog had started to burn off, so we could see a little bit of the surrounding landscape. It was great because we had the entire summit to ourselves. I climbed up onto the highest point, which was a bit scary because it just seemed like a pile of giant rocks precariously leaned up or wedged in between one another. After enjoying this for a bit, we retreated to the space under this rock pile and ate our lunch, at 8:30 in the morning.

img_2271
Sitting on top of the highest rock

img_2214
The view from the top of the highest rock
 

img_2224
Lunch under the rocks

After lunch, we were starting to get cold, so we continued on our way down the mountain via Saddle Trail and then Old Rag Fire Road. On the way down, the fog began to clear and we could see further than when we were at the summit.

img_2227
Navigating back to the trail

img_2236
Better views than the top

Once we reached the trail head, we started to actually see other humans, and many of them! They were all starting their hike and we were almost finished! Usually I am the envious one of those finishing a hike as I am just starting. This time it was me!

img_2245
Post-hike selfie in the light!

Since it was now a reasonable time of the day, the small ranger station in the parking lot was open. I’ve been collecting National Park stamps for a while, and I was excited to get my first stamp for the Mid-Atlantic region! I even remembered to bring along my National Parks Passport!

img_2249
Shenandoah National Park Cancellation Stamp

Since we finished around 10ish, we had time to drive part of Skyline Drive, which goes through Shenandoah National Park. I was pretty excited to get a picture of the park entry sign and see more of the park now that some of the fog had burned off.

img_2266
I love taking pictures of signs!

img_2259
Seeing what we couldn’t on the drive in

dsc_0386
The beautiful mountains in Shenandoah National Park
dsc_0390

I also took some cool fish-eye shots.

dsc_0407

dsc_0410
A cool shot of my friend with her car – Little Red, or Constantine – that got us to and around the park

I had such a great time on this hike and would like to return to Shenandoah for some more exploring (hopefully with slightly better weather). Until then, time to find another mountain to climb!

dsc_0417

Happy Hiking!

XOXO Dri

 

 

Leave a Reply

